7 Things I Wish I Knew My Freshman Year of College

I recently graduated with my Masters of Social Work in May, 2017.  I went straight from undergraduate to graduate, and looking back I can name a million things I wish I could change from freshman year.  My graduate internship was as an academic counselor and I saw many of the same mistakes I made, incoming freshman would make as well.  I have a list of seven things that I hope can help incoming freshman get a better idea for their first year.

  1. Utilize Campus Resources. So many colleges have a multitude of resources, that you are completely paying for.  When you get into the real world and you have to pay to see a therapist, to go to the doctor, to get career advice, it can get pretty pricey.  Make time to use the free resources that are provided to you on campus, which will help you out in the long run.  Many colleges have a career center that will help you create your resume, use that.
  2. Change Your Major. There are a few people who stick with their intended major from Freshman year to Senior year, however, it is not the norm. If you have any doubts or are more interested in something completely different, change it. Personally, I changed my major five times, It took me an extra year to finish college- but now I have a job in a field that I absolutely love.  If you are having any questions about careers or cannot decide on a major, your advising center and career center should have staff that can provide you with assessments and advisement on a path to choose (go back to number one).
  3. Create a Schedule. Looking at your schedule compared to High School may look like a piece of cake at first.  Classes only 3 times a week ? What am I going to do with all of this free time? Let me let you in on a secret: It will disappear.  Shortly after starting college, you will join groups, organizations, get friends, have to eat, study, somehow fit in time to sleep, and then do not forget to call home. With all of that going on, without a specific time management plan- it is going to be difficult. Some people use a planner and other people utilized their phones. I think the most important thing to consider is what would help you.  If you are the type to swipe away an incoming notification, you should probably utilize a planner.  Writing out/ Planning out your semester by using the syllabus and putting it all into your planner/phone should happen at the beginning of each semester, no excuses. For Classes you have Mon, Wed, Fri, plan time to study for that class on Tues/Thurs and visa versa.  This ensures you are studying for this class every day and not only when you have class or an assignment. I could do a whole post on time management in college (hmm.. blog post idea?).
  4. Use To-Do Lists. This goes along with number three, but, creating a daily, weekly, and semester to-do list can help you so much to visualize what you need to complete.  You will have many assignments and if you do not write them down or write a to-do list, you may find yourself logging into your school’s blackboard/moodle/whatever to find out you completely forgot an assignment (gasp).  To avoid this, schedule time on Sunday or Monday to prepare for the week ahead and to give yourself an idea of what you need to accomplish that week. It will also make your life a lot easier that week, trust me.
  5. Join a Organization. There are so many interesting groups/organizations to join on a college campus.  Joining a organization not only is a sure way to make long lasting friendships, but it also helps you network with people that may be your boss/co-workers/references one day.  Being a part of an organization can get you involved in activities like volunteering, event planning, and graphic design that are essential to your resume.
  6. Stay on Campus. Seriously. You may think living in a dorm is going to be uncomfortable, which at times it can be, but it is so worth it.  There may be days where you are in an argument with your roommate or someone in your dorm, but because you live with them, you have to face it.  This can teach you conflict resolution skills and help you in the long run.  You also get to be a part of residential activities, make friendships, and you are close to everything on campus so you do not have to worry as much about transportation concerns.
  7. Stay Healthy. The Freshman 15 may not happen to everyone, but is easy to do.  Not only is staying healthy important to your physical health, but your mental health as well.  Every college has a gym that you can go to for free. Incorporating physical activity into your routine is important to keep your body (and mind) healthy. Also, to keep your mind healthy, use your campus counseling center.  Seriously. College is a time that can cause anxiety and depression, and it is free to talk to an on-campus counselor.  A therapist can give you the help you need to cope with your symptoms even after college.

I hope that you can use these tips your freshman year of college (and beyond) to stay organized and conquer your college experience!

Comment below any tips for incoming freshman that you wish you would of known! Follow Mary Mindful on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, and subscribe to my email list for post updates.

4 Replies to “7 Things I Wish I Knew My Freshman Year of College”

Leave a comment